

## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

Contact: Alison Unger (512) 445-4520 aunger@headlinersfoundation.org

# HEADLINERS FOUNDATION RECOGNIZES TEXAS' BEST JOURNALISTS WITH STATEWIDE CHARLES E. GREEN AWARDS

AUSTIN (May 13, 2024) — The <u>Headliners Foundation of Texas</u> has announced the winners of its statewide Charles E. Green Award contest, recognizing the best of the best in Texas journalism from calendar year 2023. The awards are presented in partnership with the Texas Association of Broadcasters and the Texas Managing Editors organizations.

Winners were chosen in six categories from broadcast, print and online formats, and each will receive a \$1,000 cash prize, a beautiful, sculpted trophy, and recognition at the Foundation's annual Mike Quinn Awards luncheon on October 5th at the Headliners Club in Austin.

This year's Charles E. Green Award winners are:

#### **Best Television Reporter**

Marcelino Benito KHOU 11, Houston

# **Best Investigative Report by a Television Station**

"Broken Trust"
Tanya Eiserer, Mark Smith, and Rick Rysso
WFAA-TV, Dallas

#### **Best Breaking News Coverage by a Television Station**

"Tornado Emergency" KHOU 11 News Staff KHOU 11, Houston

#### **Best Radio Reporter**

Nathan Bernier KUT, Austin

# **Best Breaking News Coverage by a Radio Station**

Joey Palacios
"Two dead among numerous people found 'suffocating' in train car in Texas"

KSTX Texas Public Radio, San Antonio

#### Star Reporter of the Year

Eleanor Klibanoff Texas Tribune

#### **Star Investigative Report of the Year**

"Profiting from missing children"
Kiah Collier, Jeremy Schwartz, and Lexi Churchill
Texas Tribune

#### Star Photojournalist of the Year

Omar Ornelas El Paso Times

#### **Star Opinion Writer of the Year**

Nancy M. Preyer-Johnson San Antonio Express-News

## **Star Breaking News Report of the Year**

Staff

"Dozens dead in fire at Juárez migrant center"

Austin American-Statesman

# Overall Excellence Across Both Organizations Joint Competition: TAB and TME - Best Digital/Multimedia Storytelling

Gabrielle Munoz, Raul Alonzo, and Wells Dunbar "Pumped"

Texas Standard, Austin

The Green Awards contest places the division-level winners of statewide awards from the Texas Managing Editors and the Texas Association of Broadcasters in a head-to-head competition. Small, medium and large markets compete, with one winner in each of the six categories selected by judges from across the nation who are recognized journalism experts. Division-level winners in each category receive a \$500 cash prize.

"From stunning photos to solid, well-researched investigations, 2023 was an exceptional year in Texas journalism," said Fred Zipp, vice chair of the Foundation and chair of the Professional Excellence Committee, which oversees the awards process.

"The Charles E. Green Awards are an important part of our core mission," said Patti Ohlendorf, Chair of the Foundation's Board of Governors. "These statewide contests provide an opportunity for the Foundation to support Texas' journalism community and shine a light on the impact these outstanding journalists have on the lives of Texans," she said.

Information on each of these award winners, along with judges' comments and links to the award-winning stories, is posted on the Foundation website at <a href="https://www.headlinersfoundation.org">www.headlinersfoundation.org</a>.

-30-

Founded in 1983, the Headliners Foundation of Texas is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that promotes excellence in journalism by providing scholarships to promising college journalism and communication students; recognizing the outstanding work of Texas journalists; and providing grants to other organizations that promote journalistic excellence and education, and preserve history.