Green Awards

The Foundation sponsors the Charles E. Green Awards to honor journalists in Texas who produce the very best news reporting and commentary.

Each year, the Headliners Foundation, in cooperation with the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME) and the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB), sponsors an annual contest to identify the best works in journalism across the state for the previous year. Division winners in select categories of the Associated Press contests advance to compete for the overall distinction awarded by the Headliners Foundation of Texas.

Nearly $30,000 in cash prizes is awarded to deserving journalists in Texas each year. Winners are announced at the TAPME and TAPB spring conferences, and the Charles E. Green Award winners (overall winners in each category, including one for best online package) are recognized at the Headliners Foundation annual Awards Luncheon at the Headliners Club in Austin each fall.

Award Collaborators

Donations may be made directly to the general endowment of the Foundation, or may be specifically directed to benefit scholarships, the annual journalism contest, the speaker series, website or endowment in general.

Donations may be made outright or in pledged amounts to be paid in scheduled increments over a period of years. Click here for a summary of each program, including donor benefits. Click here for ways to donate. Please visit the Founders’ Scholarship Fund page for more information on this portion of the Foundation’s mission fulfillment.

Please consider including Headliners Foundation in your will or as a beneficiary of your life insurance or IRA. Thank you!