The Charles E. Green Awards (2014)

Listed below are the most recent winners for the Charles E. Green Awards for Excellence in Journalism, as awarded annually by the Headliners Foundation, in association with the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME) and the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB). Select the category you wish to inspect and you will access that winner’s entry materials, along with comment from the category judge(s) and the judge’s bio.  Winners of previous contests can be accessed in the “Recent Contests” area to the right on this screen. Click here for the Foundation’s 2014 Green awards media release and here for an additional release for the online winner.

Contest Winners

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB)

Best Breaking News Coverage by a Station (Radio)

“Severe Weather in North Texas”

KRLD Staff
KRLD AM, Dallas-Fort Worth

Best Investigative Report

“Injured Heroes, Broken Promises”

KXAS-TV, Dallas and The Dallas Morning News Staff Writers

Best Reporter (Television)

Matt Rist

Matt Rist
KOSA-TV, Odessa

Best Reporter (Radio)

Joy Diaz

Joy Diaz
KUT 90.5 FM, Austin

Best Spot News by a Station (Television)

“Gun Battle — La Joya”

KRGV Staff
KRGV-TV, Weslaco

Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME)

Star Investigative Report of the Year

“21CT State Contract”

J. David McSwane
Austin American-Statesman

Star Photojournalist of the Year

Jay Janner

Jay Janner
Austin American-Statesman

Star Designer of the Year

“Bruno Garcia Works”

Bruno Garcia
San Antonio Express-News

Star Reporter of the Year

Lise Olsen

Lise Olsen
Houston Chronicle

Star Breaking News Report of the Year

“SXSW Crash”

Staff Writers
Austin American-Statesman

Overall Excellence Across the Associated Press Organizations

Overall Excellence Across the Associated Press Organizations

“State Contracting Investigation”

Austin American-Statesman