The Charles E. Green Awards (2012)

Listed below are the most recent winners for the Charles E. Green Awards for Excellence in Journalism, as awarded annually by the Headliners Foundation, in association with the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME) and the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB).

Select the category you wish to inspect and you will access that winner’s entry materials, along with comment from the category judge.  Winners of other contests can be accessed in the “Recent Contests” area to the right on this screen.

Contest Winners

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB)

Best Spot News by a Station (Television)

“Tornado Tuesday”

KXAS, Dallas-Fort Worth

Best Investigative Report (Television)

“Denticaid: Medicaid Dental Abuse in Texas”

Byron Harris, Billy Bryant & Jason Trahan
TexasWFAA, Dallas-Fort Worth

Best Reporter (Television)

KHOU, Houston: Kevin Reece


Best Reporter (Radio)

Mose Buchele

KUT, Austin

Best Breaking News Coverage (Radio)

“April 2012 North Texas Tornado Outbreak”

KRLD, Dallas-Fort Worth

Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME)

Star Investigative Report

EPISD Cheating Scandal

Zahira Torres
El Paso Times

Star Breaking News Report

Officer Jaime Padron Shooting

Staff Writers
Austin-American Statesman

Star Photojournalist

Jay Janner

Austin-American Statesman

Star Designer

Jamie Huckaby

The Dallas Morning News

Star Reporter

Eric Dexheimer

Austin-American Statesman

Overall Excellence Across the Associated Press Organizations

Best Online Package (Radio)

“Dried Out: Confronting the Texas Drought”

Terrence Henry
KUT, Austin