The Charles E. Green Awards (2011)

Listed below are the most recent winners for the Charles E. Green Awards for Excellence in Journalism, as awarded annually by the Headliners Foundation, in association with the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME) and the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB).

Select the category you wish to inspect and you will access that winner’s entry materials, along with comment from the category judge.  Winners of other contests can be accessed in the “Recent Contests” area to the right on this screen.

Contest Winners

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB)

Best Investigative Report (Television)

“A Culture of Corruption”

Wayne Dolcefino, Colin McIntyre & Kevin Hirten
KTRK, Houston

Best Spot News by a Station (Radio)

“Waxahachie Chemical Plant Fire”

KRLD, Dallas-Fort Worth

Best Spot News by a Station (Television)

“Camp Bullis Burning”

KENS, San Antonio

Best Reporter (Television)

Kevin Reece

Best Reporter (Television)
KHOU, Houston

Best Reporter (Radio)

Matt Largey

KUT, Austin

Texas Associated Press Managing Editors (TAPME)

Star Investigative Report

“Patient Safety Crisis at Parkland Memorial Hospital”

The Dallas Morning News

Star Breaking News Report

“Central Texas Wildfires”

Staff Writers
Austin American-Statesman

Star Photojournalist

Andrew Brosig

Nacogdoches Daily Sentinel

Star Designer

Michael Hogue

The Dallas Morning News

Star Reporter

Terri Langford

Houston Chronicle

Overall Excellence Across the Associated Press Organizations

Best Online Package (Multimedia)

“Central Texas Wildfires”

Austin American-Statesman